Web Analytics Made Easy -



25 FEBRUARY 2024


As part of continuous efforts to restore water supply to areas that have been experiencing prolonged water outages in the north, eThekwini Municipality technical teams will on Tuesday, 27 February at 8pm shut down the Northern Aqueduct Pipeline to install new valves.

The shutdown of this pipeline, that carries water from the Durban Heights Treatment Works to areas in the north, will result in interruption of water supply while work is being undertaken.

This is part of ongoing work that the Municipality has undertaken on the Northern Aqueduct to ensure efficiency of water flow and to increase pressure within the pipeline.

A larger part of the work has been completed. This includes repairing leaks and replacement of air valves in other sections of the pipeline. However, the outstanding valves require modification to fit into the network which also requires a shut down.

This work is expected to be completed on Wednesday, 28 February at 5pm.

The reservoirs will be open during peak period in the morning and afternoon on Wednesday, 28 February. However, water supply will depend on consumption patterns. We appeal to residents to use water sparingly.

In addition, water tankers will be deployed to affected areas.

Affected areas include:

  • Phoenix 1 Lower-Level Reservoir: Mount Edgecombe Hospital, Mount Edgecombe Estate, Broadlands, Southgate, Stonebridge, and Clayfield.
  • Phoenix 1 Higher Level Reservoir: Bishop Gate Road, Pillargate Place, Landsgate Place, Rise Hate Place, and Rest Gate Road.
  • Phoenix 2 Higher Level and Lower-Level Reservoirs: Sunford, Hannaford, Phoenix Highway, Longcroft, Longbury, Plaza, Southberry, Eastbury, Groove End, Sastri Park, Caneside, Canehaven, Woodview, and the Grove End area.
  • Phoenix 3 to 6 Reservoirs: Phoenix Industrial Park, Whetfern, Whetstone, Triplen Circle, Westham, Trenance Manor, Ghandi Settlement, Lenham, Fernham, Brookdale Whetstone, Bhambayi, Amoati, Woodview, Cornubia, Ottawa, Palmview, Trenance Park, Simunye Avenue, Corobrick Industrial Area, Eleka Road, Mount Moriah Drive, Zwela Street, Mela Street, Zinza Place, Rainbow Street, and Umkhutu Place.
  • Aloes Lower-Level Reservoir: Avoca Hills, Corovoca, Khabazela, Duffs Road, Quarry Heights.
  • Aloes Higher Level Reservoir: Court Town Place, Pomegranate Road, Avocado grove, Tiger Lily Place, Quartz Place, Street 128844, Shale Place, Sandstone Road, Ridge Place, Whinstone Grove, Centre Place, Forest close, Street 128845, Street 120847, Street 120848, Street 120851, Street 12052.
  • Sea Cow Lake Reservoir : Sea Cow Lake, Parlock, Springfield Industrial, Riverside, Kenville, Newlands East.
  • Tafuleni Reservoir & Tower: Amaoti, Ngoqokazi area.
  • Mountview Reservoir: Mountview Area, Brindhavan, Southridge, Glenhaven, Parkgate, Rietriver.
  • Trenance 1 Reservoir: Dawncrest, Oaklands, Surya Heights, Sanna Township, Rietriver, Mountview, Parkgate, and Trenance Old Phase.
  • Trenance 3 Reservoir & a Tower: Amoati, Trenance Park New and Old Phase, Redcliffe, Buffelsdraai, Groenburg Estate, Tea Estate, Valley View, Madrona Drive, Bottlebrush, Celtic, and Cottonwood.
  • Newlands 1 to 4 Reservoirs: Castlehill, B5, Westridge, Rive Dene, Newland West, Earslfield, Briardale, Hillgrove, Briardale, Newlands East, Fosa Hospital area, Newlands East, V.N. Naik, Riverhorse Valley, eThekwini Hospital, Riverdene, and Westrich.
  • KwaMashu 1 to 3 Reservoirs: Kwamashu Sections K,J,L,M,N,F,G,H, B5, A,B,C,D, E,F,G, Siyanda, L, N, Ntuzuma F.
  • Ntuzuma 2 Reservoir: Main command reservoir to supply Ntuzuma Reservoir 3,4,5 and 7
  • Ntuzuma 3 to 7 Reservoirs: Inanda A,B & C , Ntuzuma A,B,C,D ,E F,G, H, Bester Areas, Soweto,Inanda Newtown A, Lindelani A Section, , Inanda Glebe, Amachobeni, Ohlanga Phase 1 and 2, Langalebale ,Dube Village, Tambo Plaza, Stop 8,Amoatna Reservoir, Etufuleni Reservoir, and Richmond Farm.
  • Amoatana Reservoir: uMzinyathi, Amatikwe, Stop 8, Nkakeni Reservoir, Senzokhule Reservoir, and Kwasilwane Reservoir.
  • Cornubia Reservoir: Cornubia residential and industrial area.
  • Virginia Reservoir and Tower: Glen Anil, Glen Hill, uMhlanga Rocks Drive. Umgeni Park, and Blackburn Road.
  • Sunningdale Reservoir and Tower North: Sunningdale, La Lucia, and Mall, Glenashley, Glen Anil, Somerset Park, uMhlanga, and La Lucia Ridge.
  • Durban North Reservoir Higher Level: Redhill, Durban North Area, Beachway, Umgeni Park, Athlone, Japanese Garden, and Riverside.
  • Durban North Reservoir Lower-Level: Beachway, Riverside.
  • UMhlanga North and South Reservoirs: uMhlanga CBD and La Lucia.
  • Umhlanga 2 and 2A Reservoir: uMhlanga Area, uMhlanga Ridge, Ilala Ridge, Hawaan Forest, uMhlanga Manors, Westridge,and Blackburn.
  • Effingham Reservoir: Avoca, Effingham, Glenhills, Glen Anil, North Coast Road, Redhill, and Greenwood Park.

We understand the inconvenience caused by recurrent disruptions in water supply and want to assure residents that the restoration of water supply remains our top priority.

For more information regarding water supply, the public can download eThekwini Municipality’s Mobile App to log faults or send a WhatsApp to 073 148 3477.

Alternatively, call the toll-free number on 080 311 1111 or email Eservices@durban.gov.za


Issued by eThekwini Municipality’s Communications Unit.

Let us know how you feel
πŸ˜€ 😐 πŸ™

    1. Did you find this story useful?

    2. What other types of info would you like to receive on this newsfeed?

    3. Rate your experience of Cornubia

    I would like to subscribe to your newsletter:

    Previous Post
    Road Closures Notice: King and Queen of Crit Cycle Race
    Next Post
    Recap: King and Queen of Crit Cycle Race Lights Up Cornubia

    Related Posts

    No results found.